Re-focusing my Focus. Nepal? Tibet? Bhutan???

I have realised that I have lost my focus of resent, I know that sounds odd but I feel it and now I can see it. Now my challenge is to re-focus on my current project. In 8 weeks I leave on the most extreme adventure of my life and an opportunity to help out a very important charity.

This project all started way back when I was backpacking through China. My wife and I had planned on straying from following my dad’s footsteps as he fled from Russia through China down to Shanghai and made a decision to head to Beijing so we could visit the Great Wall of China. However the day we had planned on going up it snowed, and it

Mykombiandi snowed in Beijing

Snowed in means no Great Wall!

snowed hard for a week. So we didn’t get our chance to visit this remarkable ancient wonder. However it did give us a chance to really wonder around Beijing and get to know this cool city. One day we found ourselves in an interesting travel agency. The Tibetan flags in the window captured me. I have always wanted to visit Tibet, it is just a place that intrigues me.  So that day I said that I would go to Tibet! I had no idea when or how but I was going there. Fast forward 6 months and we were back in Australia and back in our “Real Lives”. The ones that I just don’t like and just do not want to be in, the ones where it just doesn’t feel right. So we started to make plans to travel again. We dropped in to the Adventure Store in Perth and found a cool trip to Nepal and Everest Base Camp, which just so happens to be rather close to Tibet??? So we decided we are going to Everest Base Camp!!!

I find myself very lucky “to have been born in the here and now” thanks Jack Scott from “Perking the Pansies” for that quote. I feel it is important for someone who is so lucky to support those that are not. So my wife and I started to think, what if we support a charity on this trek? We got talking to a close friend Mel who said she wanted to come on this adventure and suggested a charity that is very close to her heart, “beyondblue”. So it was set, we were completing a 22-day trek to Mt Everest Base Camp and raising money for beyondblue, who help people suffering from depression and anxiety.

Cutting to the chase, we contacted beyondblue and became an official fundraiser, we then started up our Facebook page and the “BeyondEverest project” was formed. Please drop by the BeyondEverest project Facebook page and please like!!! It would mean the world to us, maybe give us some advice on the trek? Have you been there done that before? Any words of wisdom you feel we should know? We would all love to hear from you.

Now I was thinking while I am in that neck of the woods I would really like to see the countries that have intrigued me, Tibet and Bhutan. Tibet because of the mystique behind the country and Bhutan because I just want to visit a country that “Gross National Happiness” is more important than “Gross National Product”. I want to experience countries that peace and love is just a part of day-to-day life not the hustle and bustle of the major cities and to see what is really happening there???

When were planning the trip we decided to stop off in Bangkok for a few days prior to the trek. Just to have some relax time and to mentally prepare for the trek. We had no idea that we had planned to be there at the exact time of Songkran festival, Thai New Year! So we booked a few more days there. That festival looks EPIC!

So now I have 8 weeks left to get my head right and prepare my mind and body for an extreme adventure which I think writing this post has really helped. Everest base camp is over

Mykombiandi in Training

Training Hard! On top of Bluff Knoll Western Australia

5360m above sea level so the lack of oxygen is a worry for me. I have been training hard, so I am fit and healthy but the altitude sickness is always in the back of my mind. There is no way to know how your body will handle the extreme altitude until you are there. I will be taking plenty of photos and I will be taking my video camera so I can Vlog the trek. So to keep posted on the trek please check out my YouTube Channel and hit the Subscribe button.

Thank you so much for stopping by and letting me blurt out my feelings tonight. It means so much to me that you guys read my posts, I feel that I am growing a real friendship with you all. This post has really helped me regain my focus on this project and hopefully I have new energy towards everything involved in it!

Thanks again, if you have liked this post please hit the “Follow Button” you can also follow mykombiandi on Facebook, Instagram and now YouTube.

Also drop passed the BeyondEverest project Facebook page hit the like button and say hi.

Cheers

Shane

One Life One Search.

1 thought on “Re-focusing my Focus. Nepal? Tibet? Bhutan???

  1. Thank you for the mention. I’m chuffed :-D. And the very best of luck with your next great adventure. A real test of endurance for a worthy (and. I suspect a rather Cinderella) cause.

Leave a comment